Most iPhone users have the habit of taking photos when they travel through beautiful scenery, experience the funny moments with friends, or enjoy food with family. Do you also have the habit of taking screenshots on your iPhone when you find something interesting on Facebook, Twitter or other social platforms? Or saving and downloading some pictures from websites? So, as time goes by, there are many photos and pictures on your iPhone and they have taken the most space of your iPhone.
If you want to sell your iPhone, or donate your old iPhone to others, you need to delete all files and data from your iPhone, especially your private photos and pictures.
Before deleting, you need to backup iPhone photos and pictures on your computer.
- Part 1. How to delete iPhone photos thoroughly before selling?
- Part 2. Remove iPhone pictures from different albums with iPhone Manager
- Part 3. Delete iPhone photos pictures from Camera Roll on PC or Mac
The most common way to delete photos is to delete on iPhone manually. You can choose all photos to delete or remove them from your iPhone one by one. However, this manual method is not safe enough, only if your deleted photos have been overwritten by other files. Considering your personal privacy, we recommend another way for you to thoroughly delete photos and pictures on your iPhone.
Before selling your iPhone, you need to make sure that all your data including these photos and pictures have been removed and cleared up totally, not just deleted as you see. Because there are many recovery tools on the current market, which can recover your deleted data. Therefore, if you want to make your photos and other data on your iPhone erased thoroughly and permanently, we recommend you two very useful tools to help you.
Delete photos from iPhone thoroughly with Photo Eraser
iPhone Eraser is one of the most popular tools to erase iPhone data. It can delete a variety of iPhone contents and settings permanently, including photos, pictures, contacts, text messages, videos and more. To meet your personal need, this professional software provides you three modes to clean iOS devices data. To wipe out all your photos, download iPhone Data Eraser and install it on your PC. The following steps will show you the way in detail.
The supported iOS devices
This FoneEraser can totally support all iOS devices: iPhone SE, iPhone 6s Plus, iPhone 6 Plus, iPhone 6s, iPhone 6, iPhone 5s, iPhone 5c, iPhone 5, iPhone 4S, iPad mini 4, iPad mini 3, iPad mini 2, iPad mini, iPad 3,iPad 2, iPad Air 2, iPad Air, iPod touch 5, iPod touch 4 and more iOS devices.
The Detailed steps to erase photos from iPhone
Wait minutes for the erasing process, the photos and pictures will be permanently deleted from your iPhone.
Pros: Deleting photos from iPhone permanently and thoroughly.
Cons: The deleted photos will get little possibility of recovery.
If you want to resell your iPhone, FoneTrans can permanently and thoroughly erase all settings and data on iPhone and make your iPhone like a new one. However, if you only want to delete iPhone photos and pictures separately, you might want to use another iPhone manager – FoneTrans. With this powerful iOS transfer software, you can handily find the photo category, and manage them. Download and install this Photo manager on your PC first.
The Detailed steps to erase photos from iPhone
Wait for a few minutes, you can find that all the photos you want to remove are already gone. As you can see, this iOS manager allows you to not only delete iPhone photos, but also export iPhone pictures to computer, import photos into iPhone, and more. It is very convenient and comprehensive to deal with iOS files.
Pros: Deleting iPhone photos from different albums like Photo Library, Camera Roll, etc.
Cons: This software is limited to delete photos with its free trial.
If you only want to delete photos from Camera Roll, but not from different Albums, then you can do it on your PC or Mac.
Erase iPhone photos from Camera Roll on Windows computer
Step 1Connect iPhone to Windows computer, you should note that you need to unlock your iPhone firstly, and then plug USB cable into computer to connect iPhone. Otherwise, you may fail to find your iPhone on your computer.
Step 2Click your iPhone name after entering "Computer", then click "Internal Storage" > "DCIM" > "100APPLE" or other folder name (there is only one folder) to find all your photos in Camera Roll.
In this step, you will find that all the photos or pictures are from Camera Roll. If you find incomplete photos in the folder, then you need to do more settings as below on your computer to show all photos in Camera Roll.
1 Press "R" + Windows key (commonly on the left bottom of keyboard) to begin the "Run" interface, then enter "mmc" > press "Enter" key.
2 In the pop up window, click "File" > "Add/Remove Snap-in…" > find "Services" from the left options of "Snap-in" > click "Add" > "Local computer" > "Finish" > "OK".
3 After following all the settings above, you will find you are back the interface of "Services". Click "Services (Local)" on the left side of the window, choose "Windows Image Acquisition (WIA)" on the middle interface. Then find "More Actions" from "Windows Image Acquisition (WIA)" to select "Restart" and wait seconds, and choose "Save" in the pop-up window to save the changes you made just now. After that, come back to the folder, and you can find all the photos in Camera Roll are there.
Step 3After following all the settings above, you will find you are back the interface of "Services". Click "Services (Local)" on the left side of the window, choose "Windows Image Acquisition (WIA)" on the middle interface. Then find "More Actions" from "Windows Image Acquisition (WIA)" to select "Restart" and wait seconds, and choose "Save" in the pop-up window to save the changes you made just now. After that, come back to the folder, and you can find all the photos in Camera Roll are there.
Clear Camera Roll photos on Mac
Step 1Connect iPhone to Mac with USB cable, and you will find “iPhoto” will launch immediately on your Mac.
Step 2After that, you can see all your photos in Camera Roll show in the interface. Click "Import n Photos" (n means that the total of the photos in Camera Roll) and wait seconds, there will be a pop-up window to remind you if you after willing to delete those photos on iPhone or just keep. Here you need to click "Delete Photos".
Step 3If you want to delete selected photos, you can select multiple photos with pressing "Shift" key firstly, then click "Import Selected" > "Delete Photos".
Pros: This way is total free.
Cons: In this way, you can only delete photos from Camera Roll, and you cannot identify which photo belongs to the corresponding album. And this way is a little complicated to find the photos on Camera Roll on Windowc computer.
For careless iPhone users, if you delete the photos that yuo did not mean to, just recover deleted photos from iPhone.