How to Permanently Delete or Temporarily Disable Instagram Account on iPhone

June 25, 2021Nicole Jones

As a photo and video sharing social networking platform, Instagram has gained increasingly popularity among young people. Sharing photos on this platform means that you have posted your personal life public. Stalkers may secretly see what you are posting, which brought potential risk to your privacy.

For security consideration, you may want to delete Instagram account. Perhaps, you are just tired of sharing posts to the public and want to shut down the account. Anyway, we provide you solutions to delete your Instagram account permanently on iPhone. You can also follow our steps to deactivate your Instagram account temporary.

Delete Instagram Account

Part 1. How to Delete Instagram Account on iPhone App

If you are tired of using Instagram, you can delete it permanently on your iPhone. Deleting Instagram account may as difficult as you think about. If you have installed Instagram app on iPhone, you can follow the step-by-step guide to delete it on your iPhone.

Step 1.
Open Instagram app on your iPhone, and click the account icon on the bottom of the app. Click the menu button on the top right of the interface.
Step 2.
Tap Settings > Help > Help Center. Then, navigate to the Instagram Help Center webpage.
Help Center
Step 3.
Find and tap Managing Your Account > Delete Your Account. Then unfold How do I delete my account?
Step 4.
Follow the steps to go to the Delete Your Account page, select the reason why you delete your account and re-enter your password. Then, tap Permanently delete my account.
Delete Account

After that, your Instagram account will be permanently deleted, and all content related to it will be cleared. If you want to save Instagram videos and photos, you need to preserve them in advance.

Part 2. How to Temporary Disable Instagram Account on iPhone

When you delete your Instagram account, everything on Instagram like profile, photos, videos, comments, likes and followers will also be removed. If you just want to leave for a moment or turn it off for a short period, you can deactivate Instagram account temporarily instead. You can follow the steps to disable Instagram account for a while.

Step 1.
Log into Instagram website in Safari or other browser on iPhone.
Step 2.
Click the account icon on the top right bottom of the screen. Then, click Setting icon on the top left of the screen.
Log in
Step 3.
Tap Edit Profile, and tap Temporarily delete my account.
Step 4.
Select the reason why you delete your Instagram account and re-enter the password. Then, tap Temporarily Disable Account.
Temporarily Disable Account

Note: Once you delete the Instagram account, all posted photos, videos, comments and more will be hidden until you re-activate it. Also, you can't disable Instagram account in the Instagram app on iPhone.

Part 3. How to Permanently Delete Instagram Data on iPhone

After deleting your Instagram account, you may want to delete Instagram data that stores on your iPhone. You’ll need a data clearing program to free up Instagram data from iPhone. Aiseesoft iPhone Cleaner is the powerful utility to erase all iPhone content and settings including Instagram data permanently and thoroughly.

iPhone Cleaner

Downloads

iPhone Cleaner

  • Delete contacts, text messages, call history, calendar, notes, music, videos on iPhone.
  • Wipe out and reset your iPhone by deleting all data and settings thoroughly.
  • Provide different levels of erasing modes to clear iOS devices data safely.
  • Support iPhone 12/12 Pro/12 Pro Max/12 mini/11/XS/XR/X/8/7/6/5/4.
Step 1.
Run the easy-to-use iPhone Cleaner on your computer. Find a USB cable to connect your iPhone and computer. Your iPhone will be detected in a few seconds.
Connect iPhone
Step 2.
After that, please click the Erase All Data tab in the left panel. You can then choose the erasing mode from Low Level, Middle Level or High Level. The higher the erasing mode, the clearer your iPhone will be.
Erase Level
Step 3.
You can click Start button and enter 0000 to confirm the deletion to erase Instagram data and other content on your iPhone.
Erase All Data

Part 4. FAQs of Deleting Instagram Account on iPhone

1. How do I know if my Instagram is deleted?

You can search for your username on Instagram to check if your account is deleted. If there's a User Not Found error, then your account should be deleted.

2. How long can I deactivate my Instagram?

Before deleting your Instagram account directly, you can temporarily disable your account to hide it. You will have 90 days to rethink whether you want to reactivate the account or completely remove it.

3. Why did Instagram delete my account for no reason?

That is because you might violate one or more of Instagram's Community Guidelines. If you didn’t do such things, you can contact Instagram support by phone at 1-650-543-4800 or via Instagram's online Help Center.

Conclusion

After reading the article, you can delete Instagram account on iPhone permanently and temporarily. That is much depends on if you want to keep the Instagram account. What’s more, we also introduced the powerful FoneEraser to delete Instagram data on your iPhone. If you have any better solutions, please don’t hesitate to leave a comment.

What do you think of this post?

Excellent

Rating: 4.5 / 5 (based on 117 votes)Follow Us on

Disqus IconLeave your comment and join our discussion

Instagram Troubleshooting

How to Fix Instagram Videos Not Playing [5 Solutions] Fix Instagram Couldn’t Refresh Feed Instagram Video Won't Upload Instagram Keeps Crashing on iPhone Delete Instagram Account Recover Deleted Instagram Messages Freely Recover Deleted Instagram Photos
FoneEraser box

The most powerful utility ever, allowing users to erase all iPhone content like contacts, messages, photos, videos, notes, etc. and settings permanently and thoroughly.

Back to top