How to Block/Unblock Someone on WhatsApp

December 24, 2019Iris Walker

WhatsApp is a cross-platform messaging app that allows you to send messages with contacts over Internet data or Wi-Fi without having to pay for SMS. Because of this, there are more chances to get harassments or spam on WhatsApp. If you get too many messages from someone or just don't want someone on your WhatsApp, the best way is to block people on WhatsApp.

The question is, how to block someone on WhatsApp? What happens when you block someone on WhatsApp? How to know if someone blocked you on WhatsApp?

If you are confused about these questions, continue to read the step-by-step guide on how to block/unblock someone on WhatsApp iPhone/Android as well as the related issues when blocking a contact on WhatsApp.

How to Block Someone On WhatsApp

Part 1. How to Block Someone on WhatsApp iPhone

You can keep a contact away from sending your messages on WhatsApp by adding the phone number to your iPhone block list. So how to block a number on iPhone XS/XS Max/XR/X/8/7/SE/6/5/4? Here are the specific steps:

Block Someone On WhatsApp iPhone
Step 1.
Open WhatsApp on iPhone.
Step 2.
From the bottom menu, tap Settings > Account > Privacy > Blocked, then tap the Add New button.
Step 3.
You'll see a list of all your WhatsApp contacts. Scroll thorough the contact list and select the person you want to block. Then you'll find the number appears on your iPhone block list. Now you block someone on WhatsApp iPhone successfully!

Note: The method above is to specially block a contact that is in your iPhone address book. If you intend to block someone on WhatsApp that's not your iPhone contact, go to the chat for the person, tap on the number at the top, then tap Block Contact.

Blocking contacts on WhatsApp will delete the messages from the contacts. So you had better backup WhatsApp messages on iPhone firstly.

Part 2. How to Block Someone on WhatsApp Android

Blocking someone on WhatsApp gives you the perfect solution to stop receiving messages or seeing display from someone. If you want to block a contact on Android phone, here is how block on WhatsApp:

Block Someone On WhatsApp Android
Step 1.
Open WhatsApp on your Android
Step 2.
Tap Menu button > Settings > Account > Privacy > Blocked Contacts. This page displays all contacts that you have blocked on Android.
Step 3.
Tap the Add button in the top right, then select the contact you want to block on WhatsApp. Now you have blocked someone from WhatsApp successfully.

Note: If you want to block a number that is not saved in Android, open WhatsApp chat with the contact, tap the Block button to block someone on WhatsApp. When you receive an initial message from an unknown contact, you'll also have the option to report spam and block the number.

Moreover, do not forget to backup WhatsApp messages on Android to avoid important messages' loss.

Part 3. How to Block Someone on WhatsApp without Them Knowing

Blocking someone on WhatsApp may be awkward sometime, since people can get the sign that they might be blocked when they can't see your updated or sent you WhatsApp message. You might wonder, how to block someone on WhatsApp without the person knowing?

People don't get notifications when they're blocked, but they will eventually figure out. Unfortunately, there's not really a way of blocking someone on WhatsApp without them knowing at all. However, there is another option for you to stop getting messages without blocking them. That is, you can choose to mute that person. Technically, you will still receive messages from him/her, but it won't pop in your notifications.

How to Block Someone on WhatsApp Without Them Knowing

Part 4. How to Unblock Someone on WhatsApp

For people who block someone accidentally or out of impulse, don't worry, it's quite easy to unlock them. Here is the tutorial on how to unblock someone on WhatsApp iPhone/Android:

Step 1.
Follow the path: Menu Button > Settings > Account > Privacy > Blocked Contacts.
Step 2.
Tap and hold on the contact's name.
Step 3.
Select Unlock from the pop-up menu.

Alternatively, you can simply send a message to the blocking contact and you'll be prompted to unlock the contact.

Part 5. What Happens When You Block/Unblock Someone on WhatsApp

1. After you block a contact on WhatsApp, you will not be able to message them or receive messages or calls from them.

2. Your status message update and profile photo update will not be visible to contacts you have blocked on WhatsApp.

3. Your "last seen" timestamp and "online" information will no longer be available to a blocked contact in the chat window.

4. When you block someone on WhatsApp, the contact will not be removed from WhatsApp list, nor will it remove you from the list. If you want to remove this contact from your WhatsApp, you must delete this person form Contacts by yourself.

5. After blocking on WhatsApp, even if you unlock someone later, you will not receive any messages that were sent while blocked them.

Part 6. How to Unblock Yourself on WhatsApp

If you have been blocked on WhatsApp by someone, there are methods to easily unblock yourself without letting him know.

To unlock yourself from someone's WhatsApp account, you could go to Settings > Account, then click on Delete my account and enter your phone number. Open App manager in phone Setting, and uninstall the same. Once the app is completely uninstalled, restart your device and install WhatsApp again. Open the fresh WhatsApp, you can find that you have unlocked yourself from someone successfully!

How to Unblock Myself From Someone

Part 7. How to Check if Someone Has Been Blocked on WhatsApp

Taking so much about how to block a number on WhatsApp, you might start to worry that someone has done the same thing to you. Don't panic, there are two methods for you to tell if someone has blocked you on WhatsApp:

How to Know If Someone Blocked You on WhatsApp

1. Visit the profile page of the person you think has blocked you, then click on the three dots at the top right corner and go to "Pay for". If the person has blocked you, you'll receive a notification that's doesn't allow this service.

How to Tell If Someone Blocked You on WhatsApp

2. Create a new sample test group, and select the friend you think blocked you to the group. If your friend blocked you, you will not be able to add him/her to the group.

Part 8. How to Recover Blocked WhatsApp Messages

Regret blocking the person? Want to check what she/he has sent to you before blocking? You should try a message recovering tool - Aiseesoft iPhone Data Recovery. It is a good assistant to recover deleted or lost WhatsApp messages before getting blocked on your iPhone. What's more, you can safely recover 20+ file types from iOS device, iTunes backup or iCloud backup.

iPhone Data Recovery

Downloads

iPhone Data Recovery

  • Retrieve blocked WhatsApp, Kik, Viber, Line, Messenger messages from iPhone.
  • Recover deleted/lost messages, photos, contacts, notes, call history, etc.
  • Get deleted or lost data back from iOS device, iTunes backup and iCloud backup.
  • Support the newest iOS 13 and compatible with iPhone 11/X/8/7/6/5/4.
Step 1.
Free download, install and launch iPhone Data Recovery and connect your iPhone to your computer via USB cable. Choose iPhone Data Recovery feature on the left side of the interface.
Launch
Step 2.
Click Start Scan button to quickly scan data including WhatsApp messages on your iPhone. After that, all data will be listed as categories in the left pane.
Scan
Step 3.
Click WhatsApp under "Message & Contacts" tab and check the blocked WhatsApp messages you want. Then click Recover button to start recovering. You can also retrieve WhatsApp message attachments, voicemails, Kik, Line and Viber messages and attachments on your iPhone.
Recover

In this article, we have introduced to you how to block someone on WhatsApp iPhone/Android, how to unblock someone on WhatsApp, and some related issues such as what happens when you block a contact on WhatsApp, or how to know if someone blocked you on WhatsApp… Hope this post could help you!

Blocking someone on WhatsApp can lets you avoid the messages from someone. Still similarly, if you do not want to receive someone's calls on your phone, then learn here to block phone calls.

What do you think of this post?

Excellent

Rating: 4.8 / 5 (based on 175 votes)Follow Us on

Block Messages/Calls

1. Block No Caller ID on iPhone 2. Recover Blocked Messages on iPhone 3. Call Someone from a Blocked Number 4. How to Know if Someone Has Blocked Me on kik 5. Block Unblock Someone WhatsApp 6. Block Deactive Facebook Messages
iPhone Data Recovery box

The best iPhone data recovery software ever, allowing users to safely recover lost iPhone/iPad/iPod data from iOS device, iTunes/iCloud backup.

Back to top