How to Delete A FaceBook Account on iPhone Temporarily or Permanently

October 16, 2019Nicole Jones

If you are finally disappointed with the privacy data breach from Facebook and want to delete your Facebook account on iPhone permanently, or you are tried with social media and would like to deactivate your Facebook account for a while, it’s not difficult to achieve this. Here we will share with you how to quickly delete Facebook account on iPhone temporarily or permanently. It’s also recommended that you erase Facebook data fragments after deleting your account and uninstalling the app.

Delete A FaceBook Account on iPhone

Part 1. How to Deactivate Facebook Account on iPhone Temporarily

If you want to get rid of Facebook temporarily, you can easily deactivate your Facebook account on iPhone with steps below. Any time you want to come back, just activate your account by simply signing in to Facebook again.

What happens if you deactivate Facebook account on iPhone?

  • People cannot see your timeline or search for you.
  • Some information like messages you sent may remain visible to others.
  • You are still visible in the friends list of your Facebook friends.
  • You can reactivate your Facebook account whenever you want.

You may be interested in how to search people in Facebook.

Steps to Deactivate Facebook Account on iPhone

Step 1.
Launch the Facebook app your iPhone.
Step 2.
Tap the More button (three lines) in the bottom right corner.
Step 3.
Navigate to Settings & Privacy > Account Settings > Personal Information > General > Manage Account.
Account
Step 4.
Now choose Deactivate under the Account option.
Deactivate
Step 5.
You will be prompted to enter your password. Enter your password and tap Continue to confirm that you want to deactivate your Facebook account on iPhone.

If you want to keep using Facebook Messenger, please keep your Messenger active or logged in when you deactivate your Facebook account on iPhone.

Part 2. How to Delete Facebook Account on iPhone Permanently

If you have made up your mind to delete Facebook account permanently on your iPhone, you can easily delete it with a straightforward method. But keep in mind that this action is irreversible once your Facebook account is deleted permanently. You have no way to access your account and all the data you have uploaded to Facebook before.

What happens if your Facebook account is deleted permanently?

  • You are not able to reactivate your Facebook account any more.
  • All your profile, photos, videos, posts, and everything else you have added will be permanently deleted.
  • You cannot use Facebook Messenger any more.
  • The information you sent to your friends will still be visible to them, as the copy of the messages you sent are saved in your friends’ inboxes.

Since you will lose access to all the Facebook data you have added after deleting Facebook account permanently, you are recommended to back up important Facebook messages, photos, videos and more in advance. You can use FoneLab iOS Data Backup & Restore to do the job. It’s the best choice to help you selectively back up and restore iPhone/iPad/iPod data (iOS 13 supported).

Check the detailed steps below to back up important Facebook data.

Step 1.
Download and install Aiseesoft FoneLab on your computer. Select iOS Data Backup & Restore part.
Step 2.
Choose iOS Data Backup.
iOS Data Backup and Restore
Step 3.
Connect your iPhone to computer with USB cable and wait for the software to detect your device.
Connect Device
Step 4.
After your iPhone is detected, click the Start button and select the Facebook data you want to back up. Then click Next to choose the folder you want to save the backup files in your computer and start the backup process.
Select Data

After you have backed up important Facebook data, you can follow the steps below to delete Facebook account on your iPhone permanently.

Steps to delete Facebook account in iPhone permanently

Step 1.
Visit Facebook website and sign in to your account with Safari or other web browser on your iPhone.
Step 2.
Once you sign in successfully, please visit the page https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account in the same browser.
Step 3.
Tap on Delete My Account. Follow the instructions to enter your Facebook account password and type the Captcha. Finally click OK to delete your Facebook account on iPhone permanently. Now your Facebook account will be scheduled for deletion.

Please note that you can still cancel the deletion within 30 days if you changed your mind. After 30 days, your Facebook account and all the information will be deleted permanently.

It takes up to 90 days for Facebook from the beginning of the deletion process to delete all the things you’ve posted. When all the information is deleted, other people using Facebook will no loner have access to your Facebook information. But Facebook will keep all of your information in backup storage in case any event of a disaster, software error, or other data loss event, or for things like legal issues, terms violations, or harm prevention efforts.

You may need: How to Delete Twitter Account and Data on iPhone

Part 3. How to Erase Facebook Data Fragments

After you delete Facebook Account permanently and uninstall this app on your iPhone, there will still be Facebook data fragments that stay in your iPhone, which contains your private information. What’s more, those invisible data fragments will keep eating up your storage space. Nowadyas, there are professional data recovery tools in the market that is able to recover deleted Facebook messages. So you’d better to erase the Facebook data fragments thoroughly if you want to protect your privacy and free up your iPhone storage. Aiseesoft FoneEraser is an iOS data erasing tool that can help you erase such kind of data fragments quickly and safely. This powerful utility is able to erase iPhone content and settings permanently and thoroughly, three erasing levels are provided to erase your private data completely in order to protect your privacy.

Steps to erase Facebook data fragments permanently

After you uninstall Facebook app from your iPhone, please follow the steps below to erase the Facebook data fragments as soon as possible.

Step 1.
Download and install Aiseesoft FoneEraser on your computer.
Step 2.
Launch FoneEraser, connect your iPhone to computer with USB cable.
Connect
Step 3.
After your iPhone is detected by this data erasing tool automatically, choose the erasing level as per your need.
Level
Step 4.
After you select the erasing level, click “Start” button to delete Facebook data fragments and other unwanted data like mails, contacts, messages, photos and more from iPhone permanently.
Erasing

Wait for a while and all the Facebook data fragments will be deleted from your iPhone permanently.

Conclusion

In this article we have shared how to deactivate Facebook account temporarily or delete Facebook account on iPhone permanently. You will also know the difference between deleting a Facebook account temporarily and permanently. Moreover, it’s necessary to make a backup of important Facebook data before you delete the account permanently and erase Facebook data fragments after deleting the account permanently on iPhone.

What do you think of this post?

Excellent

Rating: 4.9 / 5 (based on 106 votes)Follow Us on

iPhone Data Recovery box

The best iPhone data recovery software ever, allowing users to safely recover lost iPhone/iPad/iPod data from iOS device, iTunes/iCloud backup.

Back to top